My 2016 TBR

Looking back on my reading log, it was kind of funny to notice that I didn’t finish any book for one month. I was so busy reading for school and writing essays and learning vocabulary that I didn’t have the time (or the inclination) to read for pleasure. I did read a chapter here and 20 pages there, but I certainly wasn’t reading two or three books a week. I actually can’t remember the last time I didn’t finish any book for one whole month… not in the past six years.

I read lots of non-fiction compared to previous years, and many of those made my top-2015-reads list. I also read a lot of escapism literature, and while I did gain value from them, they aren’t as memorable. However, one genre is missing from my 2015 reading log, and that’s LGBTQIA+. I can’t explain why. I only know that I want to read more books about LGBTQIA+ and also about gender and feminism.

In short, here are 12 books I want to read in 2016.

The Handmaid's TaleLolitaOranges Are Not The Only FruitWhy Be Happy When You Could Be NormalGender OutlawsThe Age of Innocence800 Years of Women's LettersOliver TwistCarolOrlandoZamiUndoing GenderDelusions of Gender

Yes, there are 13 covers on display. That’s because I have already started reading Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit and if I manage to finish it within this year, I want to read Jeanette Winterson’s memoir Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
Lolita – Vladimir Nabakov
Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit / Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? – Jeanette Winterson
Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation – various authors
The Age of Innocence – Edith Wharton
800 Years of Women’s Letters
Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
Carol – Patricia Highsmith
Orlando – Virginia Woolf
Zami: A New Spelling of My Name – Audre Lorde
Undoing Gender – Judith Butler
Delusions of Gender – Cordelia Fine

Of course I want to read more books than these 13, but I want them to be the heart of my reading next year. Honorable mentions go to Girls Will Be Girls by Emer O’Toole, Bone Black by bell hooks, and The Liars’ Club by Mary Karr.

What do you think?

