The Classics Club (8)

Since my last update a month ago, I…

1. …started Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert. I’m reading an English translation, and it is quite different from the English classics I’ve read. I was reading Chapter 6 of Part I when I put it down for now because I was distracted by other books. I definitely plan on continuing with the book in April.

2. …started and finished Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, a re-read or a first-time read, depending on your definition of read. That’s 7 out of 50!

3. …started The Lord of the Rings, Part 1: The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien. I confess, I thought it might be a bit hard to get through at times just like I had a little trouble here and there with The Hobbit. Instead, I’m loving it! I actually started the book yesterday and already I have read the first 122 pages! The book-story is more different than the movie-story, so the anticipation is not lost at all. Oh, I am quite fond of these hobbits!

In the month of March, I plan on reading following classics: A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf; A Vindication of the Rights of the Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft. I wish I could take Madame Bovary and The Lord of the Rings with me to Korea but 1) no room left; and 2) my time in Korea is already stretched thin with all the visits and plans and oh, actually writing the paper and doing revisions on administrative law and criminal procedural law.

March isn’t even halfway over yet, and I’m already looking forward to April!

What do you think?

