Challenge #3: Annihilating My TBR

Finally, a challenge that is actually fun!
I have a big TBR problem. It started in 2011 and basically chronicles my unhealthy relationship with money and stuff. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I adore books. Both because of their contents and as objects. They are a symbol of sanctuary and comfort for me. But I own so many of them without having read them, which has been driving me bonkers for some years. Three, to be exact.

So here is this list of my TBR as it stands now.

From 2010: 1
From 2011: 7
From 2012: 22
From 2013: 40
From 2014: 64
From 2015: 21
Total: 155

The number is in a way a relief to me because it hasn’t been this low since 2011. And still it has got to go. The hard rule is not to buy any new book until that number is zero. Of course, life will happen and people will gift me books or I will buy one or two most anticipated releases for my birthday or I will have to get a hold on in-between-books to finish the sequels that are on the list. But the general rule is still not to buy any.
The list is called TBR of No Regret because I have already cut out the books that I don’t necessarily have the desire to read anymore. I will continue to give them away or sell them off but most of them will be read by me because there are really, really good books on that list.

How long will it take me? I reckon two years if I am optimistic; but since there are complex and time-consuming books on the list as well, I probably should adjust my fiction-reading pace. I can’t exactly spit out an estimate quite yet – but I definitely will be able to by the end of the year!

 

4 thoughts on “Challenge #3: Annihilating My TBR”

  1. Good luck with this! You can do it! Purchasing a book is like making a friend. But you have all those lovely friends just waiting to engage you! I am a hopeless re-reader. I, too, have my TBR of No Regret (LOVE THAT!) but I admit, my TBR’s greatest rivals are old familiars I want to revisit and not new titles.

    Maybe/sort of/not related at all: After being unwillingly separated from some of my prized books, I have been going through (now willing!) cycles of directing my minimalist and ‘letting go’ philosophies at my precious books! It’s kind of a wild experiment, for you describe what they provide exactly: sanctuary and comfort. My books chronicle my life, all the different subjects and titles offering a synopsis of my personal history. It’s been a very interesting, revealing, and NEW journey for me to select which ones “make the cut” and which ones to pass on to other readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES EXACTLY!!
      When I hold a book in my hand, I can tell you when I bought it, when I read it, and what I felt it. When someone asks me “When did X happen??” I often can’t say the date, but then I remember I read such-and-such book around that time and oh, that was in year Y! And the funny thing is that I thought the books that once meant A LOT to me will always mean a lot to me. It turns out while some do, the majority of them doesn’t. In that way I too have changed my approach to books: I no longer want them to represent my history, I want them to represent my present.

      Oh, oh, I totally disregarded the power of re-reading when I posted this challenge! Secure knowledge of a book being wonderful can be more alluring than the potential of a book being wonderful! To avoid THAT temptation, I have put all the books I have already read backwards so that the spine is facing the wall – this helps me focus on those books I have yet to dig in :)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is genius. I think I may have to try the backwards-spine approach to give my TBRs some encouragement. I totally agree about wanting my books to reflect my present. I’m turning 30 at the end of this month…there have been a lot of life experiences and books to go with them, and it’s shaped me into who I am now. I want my bookshelf to highlight my Now.

    That is awesome that your reading helps you pinpoint events! I love connecting with book lovers!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The backwards-spine thing has proved to be surprisingly effective – it is a bit like getting rid of books without actually getting rid of them.

    What we read becomes a part of us, and some books have longer lasting impression than others – and maybe a precious few will mark our turning points.
    It will probably sound totally wacky to non-readers (and perhaps to readers as well!) but there’s something intimate about showing other people my bookshelves (which is why I don’t like it).

    And my birthday is at the END of the month as well :) Cool coincidence!

    Like

What do you think?

