March Reading Theme: Feminism & March TBR

March is already here! Can you believe it? The days are getting longer & warmer and I can feel myself getting more feisty as I wake up from my slumber. And my schedule has cleared enough – more or less! – for me to attempt another monthly reading theme. This time the topic is feminism, and I can’t wait to dive in!

March Reading Theme - FeminismThese are the books that I am going to read in March: We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie; A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft; Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay; A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf; Lean In for Graduates by Sheryl Sandberg.
I think of them as on the one hand classic feminism literature (Wollstonecraft and Woolf) and on the other hand basic modern feminism literature. I am hoping they will help me solidify my own thoughts and make me think more about feminist issues. When I am done with them, I consider doing another monthly reading theme in the future featuring Toni Morrison, Bell Hooks, Audre Lorde and hopefully a couple of books by an Asian author.

These five books are of course automatically on my March TBR. But there is one more book that I have already started in February that I’d like to finish this month:

Currently reading (March 1st) - ZZ: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler – which I’d bought myself a year ago for my birthday – has got me hooked and interested in Zelda’s novel Save Me the Waltz, a mirror-novel to Scott’s Tender Is the Night. It has also solidified my resolve to read F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novels.

I often lament that I can’t read books to my heart’s delight and then remember that it is this way for everyone else; and that I should focus more on my gratitude for the privilege to be able to read at all. I know I have my whole life ahead of me to swim in the literature of my choice but nonetheless I still feel anxious and impatient.

All right, that’s all! What are you planning to read for March?

Happy reading!

6 thoughts on “March Reading Theme: Feminism & March TBR”

  1. My library excursions have been yielding a lot of YA, fantasy, and memoir lately. I think I’ve had my fill of YA for the moment. March is my birthday month, and I think I will fill it with memoir, something I love :)

    Like

    1. Oh hey, fellow birthday-in-March-person! :D Your plans for March sound lovely – can you recommend some memoirs? I want to read some memoirs in the upcoming months but it is an unfamiliar territory for me :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. :) Happy Birthday-Month! I’ve enjoyed —
        1) One Small Boat by Kathy Harrison: her account as a foster/adopting mother
        2) Pretty much anything by Torey Hayden. These don’t read like lengthy memoirs but are fantastic accounts of her work as special education psychologist and her classroom experiences (One Child is a favorite title)
        3) I just finished Look Me In The Eye: My Life with Asperger’s by John Elder Robison, and plan on starting Running with Scissors, written by his brother Augusten Burroughs
        4)Get Me Out of Here by Rachel Reiland, regarding her recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

