Hello, Spring!

Happy Imbolc! Today marks the beginning of the Spring, which means I have officially left Winter behind me! Somehow I always feel a huge relief and bubbling anticipation around this time of the Year. I know I will be complaining about the relentless heat soon and will be wishing for the wintry cold, but for now I am celebrating the steady ascent of the Sun’s hours in my day.

This rather gloomy, exhausted phase between Samhain and Imbolc claims me each Year. It used to annoy me and I tried to be someone I did not feel like being. Now I am trying to see it from a different perspective. Like the seed that needs to rest in the ground before it can sprout up, I will use the Winter to lay low, recharge, and gain insights about my life. I am going to think of this phase as a part of my life, and not some “phase I need to go through”. Maybe it is even fitting that a Year starts with (dark, slumbering) reflection and recuperation.

It is Monday morning at around half past eleven, and I am sitting at my kitchen table in my pjs with a mug of tea and a plate of bread & ham on my right, and a carton of yogurt on my left. My apartment is relatively dust-free thanks to yesterday’s cleaning frenzy. There are no stacks of dishes piling up in the sink, only two jeans and a T-Shirt strewn around, and soon I am going to take out the trash, change the recyclable jars and bottles at a super market, and do a bit of grocery shopping.

I want to take this opportunity to say that this Year, I want to learn more about paganism, starting with the books I already have in my house – I will make a Monthly Reading Theme out of it!

What do you think?

