Reading and blogging in 2015

This is not about my reading & writing resolutions for 2015. For me personally, new year’s resolutions are bullshit. I forget about them a few weeks after making them anyway. I set my goals too high and end up being irked that I didn’t meet them by the end of the year.

I do have plans, though, and I’d like to share them with you.

Reading-wise, I do not have a specific number of books I want to read. As briefly mentioned before, I am going to stop separating my new reads and re-reads – they are to be treated equally. Genre-wise, I’d like to read more non-fiction, especially those with a personal touch such as memoirs or essays, and literary fiction. I can slowly feel my tastes changing, and the fact is that I am leaning away from most of YA fiction and Nora Roberts (although I still have a lot of unread books in those areas, so I am still going to read them as my mood strikes).
I’d like to keep on doing my monthly reading themes because they help me to approach a new terrain with a sense of excitement. I also plan on reading classics for my Classics Club Challenge (by now I’m about 6 or 7 classics behind…), and especially North and South is a must-read because I promised in my Classics Club Questionnaire! I’d also like to read Twelfth Night since I just watched a 1996 adaptation of it and was highly amused, although I do tend to think my life experiences are not yet ripe enough for Shakespeare.
Ever since introducing my filter-system, I rarely buy books I end up regret doing so, so no problems there.

As to blogging, as long as I keep doing it, I am happy. Although I did realize that especially last year, a personal touch was missing. I do write in private on paper almost every day now but publishing them online to the whole wide world feels awkward. And yet there is this desire for me to do it – so I will, every once in a while.

The underlying theme in all aspects of my life, however, is practising self-care. And listening to my gut. I plan to make these my first priority, and in doing so I am trying not to feel guilty or ashamed or selfish about myself.

What do you think?

