The Classics Club Challenge (6)

I haven’t posted an update for several months because there was nothing to update on. In September, though, I made a come-back in reading classics! So here’s what’s happening now…

News #1: I’ve finished Jo’s Boys by Louisa May Alcott – it was about time!

News #2: I’m currently reading The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens. I am determined to finish this by the end of November, so my plan is to read two chapters every day. I’m behind on today’s assignment – Chapter 11 and 12 – but it’s actually quite jolly. Tupman’s a melodramatic, Snodgrass has an artistic air, Winkle’s a dear and Pickwick’s sometimes so serious that I can’t make fun of him! Now I can see why Meg chose to be P and Jo the S. I’m still quite puzzled about Beth’s choice (T) and Amy’s (W). I suppose I haven’t found out more about Winkle yet to form more than a vague opinion of him.

News #3: It’s been more than a year since I joined TCC Challenge! The anniversary was supposed to take place in early October – the 7th, to be exact – but I was neck-deep in my paper-writing so that went right out the window. Now yesterday was the 13-months-anniversary, which makes today 13-months-and-a-day anniversary, I suppose. So! By now I should have read at least 10 classics to be on “schedule”. Well, I’ve read four. I’m not really worried or anxious or stressed or anything because when I entered the challenge I wanted to give myself an incentive for reading more classics, not an ulcer.

Now let’s carry on with our delightful readings that may enrich our minds and souls!

What do you think?

