October in Review

Whizzz! Another month gone by! Here’s what happened in October in my life…

School
Spent the first two weeks working my butts off for my paper. Barely managed to turn it in, only to have the university start the next day. Of course I’m behind all my readings. Ugh. Already started nodding off in some classes, especially if they are 8 AM ones… Enjoying classes about: company law, commercial law, English contract law, inheritance law. Ha, it seems abundantly clear now where my interest lies. Not-so-enjoyable classes: European law, sometimes administrative law. The rest is o-kay.
Applied for the AISEC membership, by the way! My expectation talk is scheduled for Monday, I’m kind of excited! I went to one of the local information evening thingy and I really enjoyed the atmosphere – it’s kind of a relief to see people stuck in similar situations and making the most out of it. (They were all jolly but also conducted themselves in such ways that they appeared more mature – I can’t believe they are all my age-group!)

Private life
… what? I have private life? Kidding, October was actually quite the social month for me. I met friends from high school three or four times (not always the same people) and had one of my best friends over for an evening of movie and friendly talk! As nice as all of that was, though, I am glad to have a free evening of relaxing tranquility. Oh wait, another friend is paying me a vist the day after tomorrow…
Also, I got rid of 150+ books.

Reading
I didn’t read anything that wasn’t related to the German criminal law in the first two weeks of the month, except for occasional pages of Poirot Investigates and this one lovely Korean book about tea. It wasn’t until I was almost finished with the paper that I allowed myself to read again. The first book I picked up was Jo’s Boys by Louisa May Alcott, which I finally finished! Yay, book No. 4 for my Classics Club Challenge! (I am supposed to have read at least 10 by now…) It was actually a very quick read once I got into it.
The next book I indulged in was The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie. At that point I was still reading Poirot Investigates, which is a short story collection and thus didn’t disrupt the flow of the overall story. Highly entertaining, this one!
To get ready for Waistcoats & Weaponry coming out in four days, I re-read Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger! Now that I had some clue as to where the story was going and the structure of Sophronia’s world, it was even more delightful than the first time around.
The next book I finished was Agatha Christie’s Poirot Investigates. It contains eleven short stories narrated by Captain Hastings and it doesn’t refer to any events from its previous book, The Murder on the Links. (The fourth book in the Poirot series, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, see above, does refer to Hastings’ re-settling at the end of The Murder on the Links.)
After that I did not finish these books, but I did make a bit of dent on: Marmee & Louisa by Eve LaPlante (Bronson is just as unsympathetic as ever) and Jane Austen: A Life by Claire Tomalin. The latter started out good but the middle part is full of random information pieced together to somehow paint a picture of Jane Austen’s life. And there are quite a lot of author’s interpretations worked in although they are marked as such.
Books that I did finish were from the same series by Diana Rowland: I re-read (after four and a half years!) Mark of the Demon and Blood of the Demon, and immediately moved on to Secrets of the Demon and Sins of the Demon, book three and four of the nine-book-series, six of which are published. The seventh is scheduled for next April. I am burning with curiosity as to how the story will progress. I am fan of neither Rhyzkahl nor Ryan but hey, whatever makes Kara happy. It’s a good thing I like the narrator/protagonist Kara Gillian so much because like the Mercy Thompson series (author: Patricia Briggs), the side characters take turns being in the spotlight. The only consistent character – especially after what happened at the end of Sins of the Demon – seems to be Kara herself. I like Kara because I somehow can relate to her loneliness and the social isolation due to her situation of being a summoner. I perfectly understand the satisfaction she gets from her work as police detective and the family-like “brotherhood” she and her colleagues shares. My favorite characters include: Eilahn, Jill, Zack and somehow Carl. Eh, Ryan has his issues and his asshole-y moments that he seems unable to get rid of. Rhyzkahl is too secretive and manipulative (or so I learned from the blurb of Fury of the Demon). I have the feeling we will learn more about Kara herself in the next books, I can’t wait!
Last book I read and finished in October: another re-read – Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger! Now I’m fully ready for Waistcoats & Weaponry, which I actually pre-ordered today using a 12%-sale thing (because today is Halloween – why not?)! I don’t have any mapped-out TBR for November except for W & W, which I will definitely read as soon as possible!

What do you think?

