May Book Haul & Wrap-Up

The “original” meme (I don’t know if this was the very first one – hence the quotation marks), In My Mailbox, was created by The Story Siren and Pop Culture Junkie. Right now there are other bloggers are hosting similar memes with different names. I don’t know who’s hosting Book Haul, though, or who started it.

May Book Haul 2014 - 1 (5)
Look at the beautiful spines!

May is the month I went crazy with acquiring new stories. You know the moment when you are suddenly gripped by the want – nay, need – to have oh-so-many books on your wishlist and GR TBR-list? Yep, May was such a moment. But I don’t regret one single purchase from this list. I’ve already read five out of these, and am looking forward to the rest!

May Book Haul 2014 - 1 (1) So the book that was meant to arrive in April arrived in early May instead, and its name is Curtsies & Conspiracies. It was SO much FUN, some mysteries are unveiled while others are beginning to shape. Some new characters – eh, I could have done without them but they kept the book entertaining. PLUS Prudence’s adoptive father makes an appearance (near the end)!! Read my spoiler-ish, somewhat incoherent review here.
The next batch was from Amazon and included Reflections & Dreams by Nora Roberts, containing two of her novels, Reflections and Dance of Dreams, both of which I read and enjoyed quite a lot. Link leads to my impressions. Matthew Quick’s The Silver Linings Playbook was also in the package and yes, I’ve read it. Quite different from what I’d expected (from what my mother told me after she watched the movie) but more about that here (beware spoilers and italic paragraphs).

May Book Haul 2014 - 1 (2)Also included was Maureen Johnson’s The Name of the Star, but since it had weird dark smudges especially in the back, I’d fully intended to send it back to Amazon. But they let me keep the “bad” copy (Since they could not re-sell it anyway, and wanted to save them the shipping cost. It was kind of risky for them to just trust me to say the truth, but all of it was truth, and nothing but truth.) while returning the full price. So yeah, I got it for free! (For free the black smudges are nothing.) Again, link leads to my batch review.
The next two books – Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo and The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson – were shipped way over from the U.S. because even including the shipping it was about 50% cheaper than here. I haven’t read them yet, though.

May Book Haul 2014 - 1 (3)Gah, I finally got (and read!) The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. And you know what? I LOVED it. I might have loved it more had I read it about three to four years earlier. But still many parts resonated with me, and I even took out my highlighter to highlight passages and quotes. And you can see the little markers all over.
The next book, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, I am equally excited about but I’m afraid of it being dense and hard to get through. It sure looks interesting though, with all kinds of weird pictures. (Not Miss Peregrine’s way.)

May Book Haul 2014 - 1 (4)My final deliveries: Henry IV Part 1 and 2 by William Shakespeare, Middlemarch by George Eliot, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

AHHH excitement! Although I probably won’t be reading Shakespeare anytime soon because I have hard time getting through them (still hung up on Measure for Measure). I am really excited about Aristotle & Dante, though.

Books I’ve read in May that were not part of the May Book Haul:

 

The Playboy Prince & Cordina's Crown Jewel Violet by DesignThe Named The Dark The Key Watch for Me By Moonlight Cranford & Other Stories

(Yep, I had a crazy reading month, too.)

The Named was the only re-read of the month. From Cranford & Other Stories, I have read Mr. Harrison’s Confessions and The Doom of Griffiths. (I’m currently reading Lois the Witch.)

What do you think?

