March Wrap-Up & April TBR

What I read in March:

  • The Beautiful and the Damned by Jessica Verday – my review (contains spoilers!) GR rating: 4/5
  • Princess of the Silver Woods (Princess #3) by Jessica Day George – a wonderful end to a trilogy! I wish there were more but at the same time I wish the princesses (and their respective husbands) no more crazy encounters with non-beings. Oh, and these books take place in a fictional continent that is modeled after Middle Age German territories (among other things). There are certainly some German words and names, especially in the first book (Princess of the Midnight Ball). GR rating: 4/5
  • Little Men by Louisa May Alcott – my review GR rating: 3/5
  • Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) by Gail Carriger – We had a rocky start, but after the first 70 pages or so, we both adjusted to each other. A delightful read!
    It was a fun reading about Sophronia’s adventures in a floating dirigible/finishing school but something felt… incomplete . I just would have loved to learn more about everything, you know? It has an episodic ending although I’m curious to see whether Sidheag will continue to be a significant part of the books; whether Monique will return; what happens to Mr. Soap; and, most importantly, what other delicious adventures are awaiting Sophronia & Co.
    GR rating: 3.5/5
  • Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things #1) by Anna Godbersen – my review/rant (contains spoilers for the ENTIRE TRILOGY!) GR rating: 3/5 (more like 2.5/5)
  • All These Things I’ve Done (Birthright #1) by Gabrielle Zevin – A surprise read that I had not at all planned into March; I’d started last summer on my Kindle (about 25% in) and finished the rest in a matter of two days. More character-driven than anything. Not especially impressed, although enjoyable. GR rating: 3/5
  • Emma by Jane Austen – my review GR rating: 4/5
  • Hidden Riches by Nora Roberts – This one has a different feel to it compared to other Nora Roberts books. The romance-angle, the male character (Jed is the most violent hero by Nora Roberts so far in my experience), the end of the bad guy. Enjoyable, memorable, but also kind of uncomfortable. GR rating: 3/5

 

What I want to read in April:

  • The Fortune of the Rougons by Emile Zola
  • Also, I’m reading Eve LaPlante’s Marmee & Louisa, and while it’s a slow process, I’m loving every minute of it! So here’s to finishing this book, too!
What do you think?

