March Book Haul

The “original” meme (I don’t know if this was the very first one – thus the quotation marks), In My Mailbox, was created by The Story Siren and Pop Culture Junkie. Right now Kristi from The Story Siren is hosting In My Mailbox, plus other bloggers are hosting similar memes with different names. I don’t know who’s hosting Book Haul, though, or who started it.

Please do excuse the clutter, I’m in the middle of moving (which proves to be a lot more work due to the many many books I own!)

March Book Haul 2014

I never meant to get as many as these this month (and more are arriving in the mail – three, I think.)

  • The first book I got in the month was Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. I’d waited for this book to come out as U.S. paperback edition (because the author is from the U.S.), and it just came out earlier this month! It has deckle edges, something I usually don’t like, but I think I can live with it. I’ve been interested in this book ever since reading Elena’s review over at Books and Reviews and I think I’ll have a good time reading it.
  • The next book I bought was Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger, Book One in Finishing School series. After rummaging through Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series, I started missing Alexia and her world something fierce. Although Alexia is not in it, Etiquette & Espionage made, after the first 50 pages or so, a delightful read. It has a very different age-group, setting, tone, and characters than PP, but WOW. Fun, fun, fun.
  • Then The Best Short Stories by Guy de Maupassant and The Castle of Otranto / Vathek / Nightmare Abbeyby Horace Walpole, William Beckford and Thomas Love Peacock, respectively, arrived in the mail, both published by Wordsworth Editions. The second one contains three Gothic novels, or some variation thereof, and was an impulse buy.
  • Marmee & Louisaby Eve LaPlante is a biography of both Louisa May Alcott and her mother, Abigail May. Interesting fact: the author is a direct descendant of Abigail May’s brother, Samuel Joseph May. She’s like his great-great-great-granddaughter or something. Anyway, at first there are so many names and people and events, but I got used to it soon enough (and to its deckle edges, too). It’s really fascinating. Abigail May is someone who is only remembered as “Marmee” from the Little Women books, but the young Abigail May we first meet in Marmee & Louisa is ambitious, intelligent and thirsty for knowledge and education that are not available to women of her time. She’s also quite sick of marriage and kids (second-hand experiences) but when she’s twenty-six or -seven, she meets A. Bronson Alcott. I’m only 50 pages in, but it’s very enjoyable & insightful so far.
    I’d quite forgotten that I’d ordered this book until it arrived – it’s a hardcover edition, in a very good condition and for now without dust jacket because it’s in my new apartment with all the other dust jackets. I also got it for less than 6 EUR, even though it was shipped from America.
  • The last book to arrive this month is a part of my birthday presents for myself (ha, it’s really just a justification): The Wordsworth Collection of Classic Short Stories. It is 1400+ pages long, and contains many, many short stories. *happy sigh* Can’t wait to dive into them. Some of the authors include: Elizabeth Gaskell, Arnold Bennett, Virginia Woolf, Wilkie Collins, Stephen Crane, Thomas Hardy, D. H. Lawrence, Henry James, Edith Wharton, and more.

That’s it! What wonderful books have you acquired in the month of March 2014? Let me know in the comments!

What do you think?

