Read The Books You Buy (1)

I am sure many of you readers out there are familiar with the feeling of wanting to read a certain book immediately, and you are so psyched about it when it finally arrives in the mailbox – and then! You don’t read the book. You can’t explain why. You are still kinda sorta excited about the book, but you want to read other books too, or you are not in the right mood for the book, or _________, etc.
But this doesn’t happen with one book a month. Oh, no. It’s three, five, seven, ten, fifteen, twenty books a month! If you belong to the latter categories, you probably read three or four out of those ten, fifteen or twenty.
Now, what happens to the other six or eleven or sixteen?

I am quite familiar with the symptoms, too. So I’m introducing my fail-proof plan! Read The Books You Buy, or RTBYB! Oh no, it’s not an acronym! Never mind!

So here is how it’s going to work:
1. The Optimal Case
1.1 I buy ___ books in a month.
1.2 I read all those books in the next month.
1.3 See 1.1

2. The Hey-it’s-Life Case
1.1 I buy ___ books in month 1.
1.2 I do not read all of those in month 2.
1.3 I still buy ___ books in month 2.
1.4 In month 3, I finish all the books I’ve bought in month 1.
1.5 Basically, it’s okay as long as I finish the load in two months’ time, ’cause life happens. Sometimes you’re busier than other times. The same goes for the books bought in month 2.

3. The Sh*t-it’s-Not-Working Case
1.1 I buy ___ books in month 1.
1.2 I do not read all of those in month 2.
1.3 I buy / not buy (not relevant) books in month 2.
1.4 By the end of month 3, I still have not finished books from month 1.
1.5 I can’t buy any more books until I have finished all books from month 1.
1.6 Basically, if I don’t finish the load in two months’ time, my permit on book-buying freezes until I do.

 

Let’s leave the boring theories behind and become practical!

I have five unread books from March Book Haul (which will be posted soon!):

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
The Castle of Otranto/Vathek/Nightmare Abbey
Best Short Stories by Guy de Maupassant
Marmee and Louisa
The Wordsworth Collection of Classic Short Stories

—-> So these are due May 31st 2014. And if I haven’t finish them by then? No books for me in the following months until I do. Woot-woot! So let’s get started!

What do you think?

