January Book Haul

The “original” meme (I don’t know if this was the very first one – thus the quotation marks), In My Mailbox, was created by The Story Siren and Pop Culture Junkie. Right now Kristi from The Story Siren is hosting In My Mailbox, plus other bloggers are hosting similar memes with different names. I don’t know who’s hosting Book Haul, though, or who started it.

January Book Haul - 1January Book Haul - 2January Book Haul - more Agatha Christie

  • Watch for Me by Moonlight (The Midnight Twins #3) by Jacquelyn Mitchard
  • Lincoln (Narratives of Empire #2 / stand-alone) by Gore Vidal
  • Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7) by Patricia Briggs
  • Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • not on the photo: Daylighters (The Morganville Vampires #15) by Rachel Caine

I never thought I’d actually have Watch for Me by Moonlight in my hands! Squee!! I totally squeeled with glee when I got the package – I’d ordered it about three weeks ago, via Amazon, from a bookshop in Philadelphia, PA, USA. It was kind of ridiculous how easy it was. And now I can finally read the conclusion to The Midnight Twins trilogy. *happy, happy sigh*

Lincoln and Gone With the Wind weren’t planned kids, so to speak.  But when I went to a bookstore to buy textbooks, o’ how could I resist thee? I went to the English Bookshop for a quick browse and found Lincoln in the bargain bin – for 5 EUR. And maybe in my subconscious I was in the Civil War era, because my eyes fell on the name plate Mitchell, so I looked for Margaret Mitchell, the author of Gone With the Wind. It’s one of my mom’s most impressive reads of her life, although having read it as a teenanger probably played a role as well.

I have already read Frost Burned, and while I still believe that the peak of the series was Bone Crossed, I still love the characters very much. I do wish Mary Jo, Honey and Aurielle will finally muster up some respect for Mercy, though. (Mostly referring to the excerpt of Night Broken at the back of my mass market paperback copy, which arrived two weeks earlier than the official U.S. release date, woo hoo!)

Then I got some (!) Agatha Christie books from my sister because, in her words, “they distract [her]”.

  • Death on the Nile
  • Blausäure (Sparkling Cyanide)
  • Das Eulenhaus (The Hollow)
  • Der Wachsblumenstrauss (After the Funeral)
  • Murder in Mesopotamia
  • The Murder in the Vicarge
  • Murder on the Orient Express
  • Peril at End House
  • Lord Edgware Dies
  • Miss Marple and Mystery: Over 50 Stories (which has all stories from Thirteen Problems aka The Tuesday Club Murders)

The blue book inbetween is Zwei Prager Geschichten by Rainer Maria Rilke.

What do you think?

