December Wrap-Up & January TBR

**I have no idea who started this “meme” – anyone who knows please let me know!**

What I Read in December 2013:

  • The MacGregor Brides by Nora Roberts: Fun, light-hearted. It was good to see Diana & Caine, Serena & Justin and (although very short in appearance) Shelby & Alan again! Not to mention Daniel the MacGregor, who really starts meddling around. What he did with his kids is nothing compared to what he does with his grandkids! (All his talk about babies did get on my nerves but since we know he means well, I’ll let it slide.) I enjoyed Gwen and Branson’s story most. 4 STARS
  • Ask the Passengers by A. S. King: Wow. Beautiful prose, heart-winning and relatable main character / narrator, Philosophy classes (Seriously! How awesome is A. S. King??! Beyond. Imagination. I assure you.), Frank Socrates, a girl who refuses to be labeled, plane passengers. I also liked it that there is no physical description of Astrid Jones. 5 STARS
  • Glory in Death (In Death #2) by J. D. Robb (re-read) 4 STARS
  • Immortal in Death (In Death #3) by J. D. Robb (re-read): Possibly the best out of the first three. Just the right amount of murder mystery & personal dilemma! 5 STARS
  • Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan (re-read): So cool and awesome and freaking genius. This book speaks to me in a lot of different ways. A personal favorite. 5 STARS
  • The Tuesday Club Murders by Agatha Christie: Otherwise known as Thirteen Problems because there are indeed thirteen murder problems all of which Miss Marple solves! Some were boring, some were exciting and most of them tricky. The first few aren’t terribly interesting, though. Oh, and Miss Marple knows a lot of maids who are named Gladys… 4 STARS
  • Inner Circle (Private #5) by Kate Brian (re-read): Drama. Mayhem. Reed running in circle. But pretty entertaining, mindless escapism. 3 1/2 STARS
  • Legacy (Private #6) by Kate Brian: More drama. Wanna smack Reed in the head. Grab Reed’s tail so she won’t have to circle around anymore. Noelle Lange! UGH Dash what’s wrong with you. 3 STARS
  • Mockingjay (Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins (re-read): Best re-read of the year. I started this right after watching Catching Fire movie (which was beyond awesome, by the way – by the time the credits were rolling and “Silhouettes” and “Atlas” were playing, I just leaned against my mother’s shoulder, my mind blown away to bits and unable to move. Thanks to the adrenaline I sat rigidly for the duration of the movie – 2 1/2 hours?) and this time I wasn’t rushing through the book like I did the first time. I contemplated each passage, I thought about Katniss and Finnick (not as a couple, no), I let my tears roll, I savored each bittersweet taste of Collins’ words. The end came too soon, but I was also glad to read the epilogue because it assures me that life goes on, no matter how hard. It shows the dandelion in the spring, that bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. 5+ STARS
  • Fair Game (Alpha & Omega #3): Hell of an ending, but the middle part was too investigat-y and FBI-ish and not enough supernatural-esque. I also kind of don’t wish for a fourth Alpha & Omega book because whatever relationship problem Anna and Charles solve at the end of a novel, they have new ones in the beginning of a new novel. Also: really loved the part in which Bran gets mad for a second because he thinks Adam’s pack is not helping Mercy recuperating from the river devil battle. Mercy reflects a few time in her own series how Bran and his pack saw her as coyote in a wolf pack and just tolerated her, which made her lonely. Now we see that Bran had been purposely hiding his affection, out of same reason he mated with Leah. 3 1/2 STARS
  • Unspoken (Lynburn Legacy #1) by Sarah Rees Brennan: I refuse to rate this book. Because I’m sure I’m capable of loving this book more when I re-read it. Because of rave reviews, I had expected to love this book immediately. Don’t fall to this trap, my dear readers. What you should know is this: Kami is an awesome, quirky (and proud of it!) and independent heroine. Yes, there are two boys, Jared and Ash Lynburn. Jared is the imaginary boy in Kami’s head, only that he isn’t actually imaginary. The Lynburns are some sort of revered / feared family in Sorry-in-the-Vale. Kami’s best friend Angela and her brother Rusty are pretty unique side characters. AND, the MOST IMPORTANT part, at least to me: Both boys, Jared and Ash, have ISSUES. Like, no, not illness or anything, but they are not ready for healthy relationships, let’s leave it at that.
    And now, forget everything I said and pick up this book. Go in with wary watchfulness, but otherwise zero expectation. Zero. Got me? This is not a book you should mess around with. Also, after reading Unspoken, please please please read The Night After I Lost You before reading Untold. Otherwise you’re gonna be frustrated about the unspokenness about Unspoken‘s ending.

What I Want to Read in January:

  • A Spy in the House by Y. S. Lee; It’s finally the time to re-read it again.
  • Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan, cuz I’m totally gonna re-read it again – this time in peace.
  • Same Difference by Siobhan Vivian; it’s a tradition of some sort. I re-read it every January, except for this year, I’m afraid. Actually, I’m not sure about 2012, either. But I KNOW I read SD in 2010 and 2011 on the same day.

Yes, I realize they are all re-reads. I love me some re-reading.

What do you think?

