Classics Club challenge (1)

Yesterday I realized that I have in fact joined the Classics Club challenge about two months ago. I’ve been so caught up in the university work that I had totally forgotten about it. Now it’s an update time!

Confession: I haven’t finished a single classic book after A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare in September. And yes, that’s before I started the challenge. So far, I haven’t read any book that counts towards the challenge, but I’m currently reading David Copperfield by Charles Dickens(very, very slowly – a chapter every two weeks?) and a couple of days ago I started Emma by Jane Austen as well.
So far, I’m adoring Emma, and being thoroughly entertained by David Copperfield. (Both book titles’ are hero/heroine’s name, I realized just now.)

Emma is a spoiled, meddling, know-it-all, but she’s not a snob. That’s what makes me feel exasperated affection towards her, I think. Emma means well – and by doing so, she assumes she knows the best about everyone and everything. Mr. Knightley sees through all the surface, but his argument about how Mr. Martin would be degrading himself by marrying Harriet because she’s an illegitimate girl (but he [Martin] loves her sooo much blah blah) made me kind of mad. I mean, neither was I moved by Emma’s argument about how it would be other way around – Harriet is a young woman of class, while Mr. Martin is, *gasp* a farmer. But Mr. Knightley accuses Emma of being shallow and thinking of only class, but that’s what he did here, too, just twisting around by saying that even though a farmer, Robert Martin is a gentleman (huh?) and in a higher standing than Harriet. And how Harriet is a silly girl if she refused the proposal. Gah, I’m so glad I don’t live in the 19th century, I think I would have choked on all those restrictions on and sexism against women.

David Copperfield, on the other hand, progresses more slowly. Davy is still a young lad, after all. The scene of his birth opens the book, and while it was difficult to get through those first five pages, it got better – especially after his curious great-aunt made her appearance. I’m counting on her appearing again. Oh Davy, so sweet, naive yet loyal and loving. Of course he has his faults like any other children, and his misfortune of having his mother re-married made him (and me, and Peggotty) miserable. And to watch her (David’s mom’s) spirit slowly break was so shattering. I’m in the middle of the chapter of I Become Neglected, and Am Provided For.

I do hope to read a bit more of them both during December. Let’s see :)

What do you think?

