Lughnasadh / Lammas

Today marks the symbolic end of summer and the beginning of autumn for me – today is Lughnasadh.

Lughnasadh (pronounced Loo-Nah-Sah) is placed roughly half-way between Litha, or Summer Solstice / Midsummer, and Mabon, or Atumnal Equinox. Today Wiccans and Pagans (for those to whom Lammas falls on today) also celebrate the beginning of the harvest season.
I found out today that wheat (밀) actually is harvested between mid-August and mid-September in the U.S. and a whole month earlier in China. (I’m talking about spring wheat here.)

Lughnasadh is one of the Sabbats I really like, because it makes me look forward to the autumn to come – golden afternoon skies, shortening days and cozy feelings come to my mind.

I cherish the memory of what happened last year in August, not because of a particular incident, but because the whole period between Lughnasadh and Mabon marked new beginnings (starting of my last year at high school & reading ebooks) accompanied by agreeable weather and my excitement.
This year’s period will be more tranquil, and hopefully I will spend a lot of time thinking, reading and recovering.

What do you think?

