WRW #8: 50 … You Really Need to Know edition

Wednesday Reading Wishlist is inspired by Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine but I don’t feature future releases exclusively.

I downloaded John Sutherland’s 50 Literature Ideas You Really Need To Know on my Kindle and it is really good but I regret not buying it as a physical copy because it’s kinda hard to go back and forth between chapters and the content isn’t exactly an easy one.
In general I like the idea of this 50-key-ideas-of-a-subject series because it offers you an overview on a certain subject. The only catch is that different authors write different books for the series, so there is no guarantee as to the professionalism of one book solely based on the review of another.
On a sidenote, I actually own Adrian Furnham’s 50 Psychology Ideas You Really Need to Know in Korean (한국어 번역 제목: 심리학, 즐거운 발견). I’d quite forgotten about it.

50 World History Events You Really Need to KnowWorld History: 50 Events You Really Need to Know by Ian Crofton (ISBN: 9780857380753)

Unfortunately, there are only two editions available: ebook and hardcover.
The ebook version of this series costs around 4 EUR while the hardcover costs three times more…
But gloomy thoughts aside, this will give me a place to start for my “study” of world history.

50 Religious Ideas You Really Need to Know by 50 Religous Ideas You Really Need to KnowPeter Stanford (ISBN: 9781848660595)

I am an atheist, but so many people have placed (and still continue to do so) on religion.
My mother says repeatedly that you can’t read European literature without reading the Bible. I’m not gonna read the bible, ever, so this is the closest I can get to it for now.

 

50 Literature Ideas50 Literature Ideas You Really Need to Know by John Sutherland (ISBN: 9781848660601)

Even though I already own the ebook, I’d love to read this book as a physical book!

What do you think?

