Prequel Review: My Soul to Lose

Soul Scramers Vol.1
This bind-up contains: My Soul to Lose; My Soul to Take; My Soul to Save

Title: Soul Screamers: Volume One
Review title: My Soul to Lose
Series: Soul Screamers #0.5
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publisher: Harlequin Teen (Harlequin Books S.A.)
Original publication in: 2009

The novella My Soul to Lose was originally published as an ebook only. It appears in print for the first time in this bind-up.

Date read: January 2012

Kaylee Cavanaugh is at mall with her best friend, Emma, looking for a dress for homecoming and plotting ways to revenge her ex-boyfriend when she feels it again: the screaming. And the inevitable death of someone near her that will follow.
Kaylee can’t stop screaming, a gut-wrenching, high-pitched scream that literally forces its way up to her mouth.
When she comes to herself after having lost her consciousness in the mall, Kaylee finds herself strapped to a bed… in a mental health institution.

Unlike Alpha & Omega from my previous review, My Soul to Take, the first full-length novel in the Soul Screamers series, can be read without having read My Soul to Lose.
That being said, I think there is a vague reference in My Soul to Take about what happened in the prequel.

What made this novella interesting to me is that completely different feel – it is rather edgy and mysterious. The people Kaylee met at the institution – Lydia, most importantly, but I’m hoping Mandy and Brent will also make an appearance – and the environment they are in force Kaylee out of her comfort zone and she has to fend for herself.

There are no answers given about Kaylee’s screaming in My Soul to Lose – they come in My Soul to Take – but all in all, an interesting novella. One of the better ones.

What do you think?

