Sequel Review: Dance to the Piper

This bind-up contains The Last Honest Woman and Dance to the Piper
This bind-up contains The Last Honest Woman and Dance to the Piper

Title: O’Hurley Born
Review title: Dance to the Piper
Series: The O’Hurleys #2
Author: Nora Roberts
Publisher: Silhouette (Harlequin Books S.A.)
Original publication in: 1988

This is the 2010 bind-up edition that contains the first two books in The O’Hurleys series.

Date read: ~ July 19th 2013

Maddy O’Hurley, the youngest O’Hurley triplet, is preparing for her role in Take If Off (in which she plays the role of Mary, a stripper who pretends to be a librarian to Jonathan, a young, rich heir). When she and Reed Valentine of Valentine Records (who is backing the play) meet, sparks fly and they are drawn to each other although they are seeming the opposites on surface. But Reed has an cynical attitude towards relationship and fights against his feelings, afraid to hurt Maddy. Maddy on the other hand has a generous heart and isn’t afraid to share it with Reed. Will these two be able to overcome their differences and find happiness together?

I don’t know much about acting, dancing or theater in general – actually, my knowledge is zero. I knew so little, in fact, that all those technical terms flew right by me.

But while Dance to the Piper failed to teach me about various ballet positions and theater backstage, I still had a good time reading the story, just like I always did whenever I read a Nora Roberts.
Maddy’s vibrant, optimistic and bright character caught my attention immediately. She’s the kind of person I want to become – friendly with everyone, spontaneous, courageous and always equipped with witty comebacks – but my nature’s more reserved and shy, and with time I find it more and more difficult to fight against my nature.

Anyway, so Maddy totally overshadowed everything in the book but to be fair, the general storyline and secondary characters – Maddy’s fellow dancer, Wanda, and Reed’s father, for instance – added to my interest in the book.
Reed was a likable man even though he is not my type – but then again, he wasn’t Maddy’s either. His trauma is understandable but that does not mean that he did not frustrate me! Madeline is a woman of open emotions and honesty (finally, something we share) so sometimes Reed tried to do what he thought was right but ended up hurting her feelings.
Oh, well. All’s well that ends well. And in that aspect, you can’t do wrong by choosing a Nora Roberts book.

What do you think?

