WRW #6: Mix of Publishers – Classics

Wednesday Reading Wishlist is inspired by Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine but I don’t feature future releases exclusively.

I have yet another Wednesday Reading Wishlist post on classics but this time, each book is from a different publisher!

Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press

1. The Ladies’ Paradise – Émile Zola (ISBN: 9780199675968)

I watched a review video from Astrid the Bookworm and I was immediately hooked. I decided to get the Oxford World’s Classics edition mainly because I thought this was the best among the choices I had.
To my best knowledge, this book is part of a series, or “cycle”, as Zola put it, similar to Balczac’s works, I think? Anyway, The Ladies’ Paradise is the seventh or eighth novel but the novels can also be read as stand-alones, so…

2. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins (ISBN:

The Woman in White
Penguin English Library

9780141389431)

I am abandoning Wordsworth’s Mystery & Supernatural edition of The Woman in White, and not just because the cover is horrible. I have heard from many Booktubers that they liked Penguin English Library editions, so I thought I’d give it a chance. On a side note – the cover is pretty cool, isn’t it?

Wordsworth Editions
Wordsworth Editions

3. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens (ISBN: 9781853260391)

Alas, I have not dumped all of my loyalty, for the last book is from Wordsworth Editions. Again I owe Astrid the Bookworm for this one because even though I had once planned to read all Dickens, the thickness of certain volumes can be very daunting. (I still haven’t read David Copperfield and Bleak House yet.) But this one I want nonetheless.

What do you think?

