WRW #2: Authors I Already Know & More Classics

Somewhat inspired by Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine but I don’t feature future releases exclusively. My list is more like Wishing on Wednesday meme but I don’t know who’s hosting that…

Artichoke's Heart1. Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee
I really liked her Somebody Everybody Listens To. This one is about a girl who’s trying to lose weight in a small Southern city (I emphasize the last part because SELT was also set in Tennessee.). And isn’t the cover pretty? Afraid will buy this one as ebook, though…

2. Prince of Shadows by Rachel Caine
This one is set to be released in February next year.  It focuses on Benvolio from Romeo and Juliet. A classic re-telling from Rachel Caine on Benvolio? (I have an especial fondness for Benvolio ever since watching the anime Romeo X Juliet) I hope she does the characters justice.
(Update 6/25/13: It has a cover! It’s ugly, but at least it feels more real now.)

3. Romeo and Juliet by William ShakespeareRomeo and Juliet (Wordsworth Editions) (ISBN: 9781840224337)
Because I cannot say the last sentence from No. 2 without having read the original first.

4. Fanny Hill – Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure by John Cleland (ISBN: 9781840224177)
This review convinced me to read it.

5. Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti
Colasanti’s books get better and better, in my opinion. (A little blip was Something Like Fate, because even though it wasn’t bad it also wasn’t as great as Waiting for You or So Much Closer.) This one is about bullying. The hardcover is so pretty but I don’t particularly like the paperback version (too cute) and since I try to buy more ebooks than print books (although this does make me dependent on Amazon – but Thalia or Hugendubel don’t have as many English ebooks as Amazon! Grrr!) I’ll probably get the ebook.

Etiquette & Espionage6. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger (ISBN: 9780316190107)
Loved her Parasol Protectorate series! I’ll snatch this one up as soon as it comes out as paperback in October.

7. Prudence by Gail Carriger
On that note, I’m also waiting for Prudence to come out – sometime in 2015, we hope. I just have to find some time in the middle of my 4th semester of uni.

8. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
I’m approaching this with extreme caution after almost two years of debate. I liked her early VA books but her twists kept getting just bigger and more incredulous. But still, I’m giving Sydney and Adrian and Jill and Eddie a chance.

9. The Moon and More by Sarah DessenThe Moon and More (ISBN: 9780670014828)
What Happened to Goodbye convinced me to keep holding on Dessen, and it’s already released by the time this post is published!

10. Maggie: A Girl of Streets & Other Stories by Stephen Crane (ISBN: 9781853265594)
I’d read this for the praise for his prose alone. It will also make an interesting contrast/resemblance to Fanny Hill, I should think.

2 thoughts on “WRW #2: Authors I Already Know & More Classics”

What do you think?

