Confession Time: Books I said I will read as soon as I get them but didn’t

The thing is, I don’t live in the U.S. Or the UK. Or in Australia or Ireland or any other English-speaking country. But I’m crazily in love with reading English/American books.

There are a couple of problems accompanying those two facts.
Problem No. 1: When I go into a bookstore, I rarely find any books I want to read. Or if I do, the books are either from “wrong” publishers (e.g. I have the first book from Hyperion (U.S.) and the second book from the store is from ATOM (UK). There’s nothing wrong with ATOM, or any other British publishing houses. I just want to follow the original publishers from the countries of the authors.) or they are too expensive compared to some online book sites.
Problem No. 2:  Most of the books I find on online sites do not have every single book I want stocked up, just waiting for me to file the order. Nope, they have to order it extra for me – for extra two to three weeks.

The Ultimate Problem: By the time I actually get the book, my desperation to read the book has vanished. That’s why these lists are here. I only chose top fives. Or I would never be finished.

The (lost) power of sequels or: oops what happened in the book before in the series? / I’m into another series now.
1. The Body at the Tower by Y.S. Lee – I was blown away by the first book, A Spy in the House. By the time TBatT arrived, though, I was already reading other books. Now I have the second AND the third book at hand. I think I’ll wait for the fourth book before I re-read the whole series.
2. Magic Study & Fire Study by Maria V. Snyder – I absolutely ADORED Poison Study. So I even ordered those two at the same time. But still, they were too late. Some of it is my fault, too. I read PS in December 2011 but didn’t order MS and FS right away. I did that a month later, I think.
3. Princess of Glass by Jessica Day George – Again, fabulous Princess of Midnight Ball, a perfect mix of historical fiction, fairy tale retelling and knitting. Um, I’ll read PoG soon. I think. I hope.
4. Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter – I read Heist Society in October or November. Uncommon Criminals arrived in June. Yeah. A looong break.
5. Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles – hey, at least I’ve read this one, although it was more than one and a half year later after it arrived on my figurative door step…

The power of blurb/concept or: I love the basic plotline of the book! Well, I haven’t read it yet, but still…
1. The Lady in the Tower by Marie-Louise Jensen: Middle Ages. A mother locked away in a tower. A murder plot. What’s not to love? So why haven’t I read this yet?
2. The Reluctant Widow by Georgette Heyer – a Regency novel about a governess who becomes a wife instead – and then she’s a widow. Whoever did the blurb did a damn fine job of hooking me in.
3. A Breath of Eyre by Eve Marie Mont – If you haven’t noticed by now, I love historical fiction. This one is about a girl who finds herself transported into Jane Eyre’s world – in fact, in Jane herself.
4. Dark Vengeance: Summer by Jeff Mariotte – Formerly titled as Witch Season series, I feverishly wished this series was like Cate’s Sweep series. Is it? I don’t know. It does have a relative low average rating, though.
5. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens – A gorgeous Collector’s Library edition, a birthday gift from Mom. For last year’s birthday…

The power of association or: hey I know x, now I have to get this book!
1. Below Stairs by Margaret Powell – after I heard Downton Abbey was inspired by this book, I had to read ASAP. Uh… turned out I didn’t quite much.
2. Night of Solstice by L. J. Smith – one of my favorite authors’ first published book; of course I had to read it! I still do. Ahem.
3. Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs – I decided I wanted to read the spin-off Alpha & Omega series right along with Mercy Thompson series. Once there, both series got forgotten, buried deep under the TBR pile…
4. Secrets of My Hollywood Life by Jen Calonita – I figured it was like the A-List. I needed a escapism series…
5. Sisters in Sanity by Gayle Forman – I tried and tried to find this book when it was out of print – at least here. So when I spotted it on Abebooks, I just grabbed it, thinking it must be good since it was from someone who wrote If I Stay.

What do you think?

