Introvert + Extrovert = Me (a.k.a. ambivert) ?

So I was thinking about introversion vs. extraversion yesterday when I came across a YouTube video called Party Survival Guide for Introverts from Wellcast while browsing videos from vlogbrothers.

Here is Wellcast’s guide in five steps:
1. Invent an excuse to leave the party early before you go to the party – just in case you need to escape.
2. Once arrived, scout a place where you can have a moment or two to recover from noises and people in case it gets too overwhelming. It can be balcony, a quiet hallway, or even outside.
3. Keep busy. Find something to do, like helping the host. This also will give you an opportunity to meet a variety of people.
4. Latch on to other introverts who are at the party.
5. If it gets too much for you, just use the excuse from Step 1 and leave the party. It’s perfectly okay to do it. And give yourself a few days to recover in calming atmosphere.

I can’t speak for others, but my interest in introverts got piqued when I came across Susan Cain’s book, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. I still have to read that, but I will.
The Wellcast video explained introverts as people who “have low threshold for external stimulation” and “get their nourishment from internal stimulation”, such as “reading, thinking, listening to music.” They are also “drained by external interactions – lot of people, loud music, a party.”
I think this is a pretty good explanation. An extrovert would be, accordingly the opposite: a person who are vitalized by and enjoy parties and crowds.

So what am I? As indicated in the title, I think I’m a little bit of both, although I tend to be more introvert than extrovert, I suppose. I even took a test or two to find out, and they seem to agree with me. Especially this one.
It is like this: When I’m at home after school or at weekends, I don’t want to leave my room, ever. I’m content there, with my family near me and happily reading or not-so-happily doing homework. Just thinking about going to a party or even getting a text message stresses me out. I’m like, hey world, don’t interrupt me!
But once I do arrive at a party or go to school, I’m swayed by the atmosphere and begin to enjoy it. Then I don’t want to go home, ever! It is really too vexing. I do feel awkward and shy when I’m around people I don’t know or who are not from my group of friends. I really, really feel comfortable when I’m surrounded by people who know me and who are willing to listen to me. Not this superficial everyday-nonsense. But sometimes I just wish to go home and hole up with a book. I think the word “draining” is a perfect description. Whenever I get back, I’m exhausted. Even meeting with Sunny (a pseudonym) was difficult, even though I love her and she’s an introvert herself and I love spending time with her. But we went to a huuuuge museum first, and when we were done, I was hungry, weak and unfocused. After we got our food (KFC because no store was open on Karfreitag) and just talked, I felt much better. Still, I just went to bed and fell asleep as soon as I got home because being outside had drained me.

So, maybe I’m not exactly an ambivert – more like an introvert who occasionally shows up extroverts’ qualities. But I usually do prefer the quiet and the alone. But maybe that’s because I’m currently at home and haven’t been out in days. Or maybe I’m just moody.

P.S.: Not looking good with my SuB plan… I ordered LiT and GoP yesterday… but I did finish a book today.

What do you think?

